The West Milford Museum
In the 1980's, the Township of West Milford designated the Town Hall Annex as the future West Milford Museum. The Governing Body established the West Milford Heritage Committee by resolution in 1985 to plan and implement a local history museum which included supervising the restoration of the existing building, managing collections, and eventual staffing of the institution. The Museum is located in the center of West Milford, across from the Township Municipal Building at 1477 Union Valley Road.
For over 30 years, the Heritage Committee has worked with professionals in planning and executing the building's interior and exterior renovation. The Committee has been responsible for collecting and archiving valuable historic artifacts for displays and exhibits that highlight West Milford's unique history.
The Committee had undertaken numerous successful fundraising efforts to supplement the monies allocated by the Township for the project. The largest and most successful efforts were the annual Tennis Tournaments, coordinated by former West Milford Township Mayor Carl Richko, sponsored by Lakeland Bank and many other local businesses.
With few construction and maintenance projects remaining, the Heritage Committee continues to voluntarily staff the museum, prepare exhibits, catalog artifacts onto a museum database, and offer various history related programs.
Donations and volunteers/interns to assist with maintenance and historical research are welcome. Inquiries about projects and volunteering can be made at the Museum during its regular operating hours on Saturday from 1pm to 4 pm or by emailing [email protected].